Problems, need help? Have a tip or advice? Post it here.
11 posts Page 1 of 2
Hello,

I'm very new to using Couch and I'm not really grasping the concept of how it relates or doesn't relate with HTML. When I view the source for my webpage it is in HTML with couch tags in it, but I can't find any html files that I can edit.

My end goal is to add 'print' to the media type to make it more printer-friendly if that helps.

Thanks! And let me know if you need more information!

Landon
Hi Landon,
When I view the source for my webpage it is in HTML with couch tags in..

Not sure which source you mean - is it the view:source we do in a browser for rendered pages or is it the PHP template on the server?

If it is the source seen in the browser, that certainly should never show any Couch tags. If it does, it can only mean that either you have not changed the extension of your template to '.php' or have failed to put in the <?php require_once( 'couch/cms.php' ); ?> and <?php COUCH::invoke(); ?> statements within it.

If, however, you mean the source contained in the PHP template itself, then that is the file that you your looking for to edit. All the HTML for the page should be in the template (or embedded in it via snippets).
You can put the CSS declaration for the print media in there.

Of course, I have been making assumptions of what you meant and could be completely off the mark.
Please post in the template you are trying to work on and maybe that would throw more light on the problem.

Thanks.
My Apologies!

I was viewing the page source from the browser and this does not have any couch tags in it. Sorry for the confusion! Is there a way to designate the media type for 'screen, print' in a php file? That is the only way I know how to make sure the page keeps its formatting in html and I don't see a place to do that in the php file.

Really the end result is to make sure the page doesn't lose its css formatting for printing.

Thanks for your help!

Landon
Hi,