Forum for discussing general topics related to Couch.
5 posts Page 1 of 1
Hi. Am a complete noob to couch, and am enjoying what I'm seeing so far but just trying to work out how to achieve a couple of features I'm trying to implement.

I'm planning on having pages for products within product groups by using the nested pages feature, so I can build up a hierarchy and use masquerading to get my structure there. I'm not doing this as a cloned template, because I want the template to be different for the different product ranges / products, rather than one consistent template between the products.

What I then am planning on having is a news page which would be a normal cloned template, with text / a lightbox style gallery, but also want to have a list of "related products" on the page which can be set. So news item 1 which is about someone using product A and product B, would have links / thumbnails to product A / product B shown.

I'm looking at the "relationships" feature at the moment, but as far as I can tell, this is only allowing you to set a relationship to a cloned page. However as my products are just a nested page, not a cloned page, I'm not sure if this will work.

Is there a way to have a field which is essentially an arbitrary list of other pages available on the website which I can link to, or is there a way I can swap things around so that it'll be treated as a cloned page correctly but with different templates?

Thanks in advance!
So, when you're showing the page for "Product A", you'll also want to display at the bottom of the page a list of "related products" - which may or may not be of the same template as the current product being displayed. Is that correct?

If this is the case, you can certainly do this in Couch. Start by asking yourself what is the criteria you're going to use to display these products in the "Product A" page. How are these products related to "Product A"?